top of page

Field Day Preparation

Hello Families! Sorry about not posting last week. The plague has hit my house and they are dropping like flies. But I definitely want you to know what has been going on the last few weeks and the one coming up. Field day is this coming Thursday. So the kids and I have been painting wrist bands in team colors. I also have had them drawing their team logos (first thru third grade). You would not believe how incredibly talented your kiddos are. I was blown away by their renderings. I was hoping to have a few placed on cardboard shields but it will depend on whether or not I escape the sickness. I also will need to upload a few more pictures. I was bad about taking pictures thsi week and last.

In Kindergarten this last week, we had a lesson on totem poles. I actually have gigantic cardboard tubes and I will be hanging everyone's pictures on it so we will have a class totem. We still need to do a little cutting but as soon as those are done I will post pictures. The kiddos are extremely excited about the gigantic totems. This week coming up we will be studying the statue of Liberty and discussing the differences between the two very different types of statues. We will then draw her and create a cute picture.

In first grade, we worked on our Picasso Roosters and finished them up. They were bright and wonderfully colorful. This week coming up, we will be working on planets. We will discuss shapes,colors, shading and light. They will draw their planet and work on shading and light.

In second grade, we have been busy working on our Himeji Castle drawings. They are taking a lot of time but it's amazing to see the kids become confident in their abilities. I am so proud of them and the way they have been working.

In third grade, we finished our scrolls. We also took some time and worked on finishing projects that weren't quite done. This week, we will discuss The Scream by Edvard Munch. It is one in a series of paintings. We will talk about colors and lines and the way they are used to show emotion. The kids will create their own Scream. And finish it with oil pastels.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page