top of page

A New Year, A Ton of New Projects

I hope that everyone had an amazing break. My family did a lot of relaxing and a ton of roller coaster riding!! At least the boys and I did. I even came in and hung a few pictures in the art room so that it can start to look a little more arty! I'm slowly making it my own and hopefully a place that the kids can enjoy.

It's time to get back to work. I am trying to collect enough items so that I will have a good variety to display in the art show. Art Show!!! I did say art show. No date has been made but as soon as I have one, I will let you know. I will also be reaching out to parents who are willing and able to volunteer their time and talents in preparing for the art show. Details to come.

I am hoping this blog set up will be a better fit for the art I can't wait to display and also in communicating with you all what is happening in the art room.

In kindergarten, first grade and second this week, we discussed bald eagles. I had been following the story of the bald eagles in Florida over break and thought it would be fun to talk about them and then draw them. You can not believe how well your students did. I asked the students before we started if they thought that they could draw a bald eagle. They all loudly stated that there was no way they could do it. But they did. My favorite part was when one kindergarten student declared, " Oh my gosh!!!! I CAN draw!" It was definitely the highlight to the day.

In third grade, we worked on finishing our aqueduct paintings. They turned out amazing. Some students are still finishing them. I can's wait to display them.

I will be posting pictures later this week so that you can enjoy them.

This week we will be doing all new projects.

Kindergarten will me learning about Joan Miro. He is known for his art that looks kid like. The students will be creating a person in the style that Miro did. They will then be coloring them in primary and secondary colors. I will also have my kinders for half day on Wednesday. On that day we will be learning about the artist Helen Frankenthuler and her piece Blue Atmosphere. We will be creating our own piece of art using bleeding tissue in colors that your students will choose to reflect their feelings and moods.

First grade will be revisiting Georgia O' Keeffe (one of my favorites!) again. We will be recreating her Red Hill and White Shell piece. we will be using a few different mediums and also doing a little collage. I'm excited about this project and I hope it turns out beautiful.

Second grade will be learning about Greek columns. We will discuss the different types of columns and I will have them identify them on different buildings. We will then make our own renderings of a column using either oil pastels or chalk (it just depends if I can get my hands on some chalk).

Third grade will continue on with Roman art. We will be doing paper mosaics. I will be showing them some unique mosaics and will have them plan out their own. I am super excited to see their creativity.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page