top of page

Let the Art Show Commence

We have a date for the art show...actually two dates. The headmaster will be sending those out soon. I will be seeking help with lots of things here in the new fear future so if you think that is something you would want to do, please let me know. I never turn down help.

This week in kindergarten, we talked about the picture Snap the Whip and the movement that was portrayed. The kids and I created a little action book using stick figures. It sounds silly but it was a whole lot of fun. We acted out some moves (all classes chose karate) and then we drew a stick figure of the action. We then made a stick figure out of pipe cleaners and posed them. We drew a background to match our pose. This week we will be reading book called The Boy Who Painted Dragons. We are going to make a dragon puppet that they will get to take home.

In first grade we finished our Red Hill and White Shell pictures. They really are my favorite. Some classes finished their projects a little early so we spent a day drawing frogs to go along with their reading of Frog and Toad. You all have some talented kiddos. This week we will be talking about Picasso and his lines. The kiddos will follow me in a recreation of one of his rooster paintings. I love roosters and I think this will be a lot of fun. They will finish them off with oils pastels.

In second grade, we didn't get around to the Pagodas as they had testing. So on Thursday we drew Picasso Roosters. They just need to finish them with oil pastels. We will begin our Pagodas project this week. I really think they will turn out beautiful.

In third grade, we worked on finishing our mosaics. The kids afre doing an awesome job and have been exhibiting a lot of patience. Mosaics are time consuming and sometimes frustrating but they have done awesome. We are going to make Chinese Scrolls this week. We will be painting Roosters on the scroll with watercolor.

As you can see, there is a little theme going on in all my classes. The Chinese New Year is approaching and I thought it would be fun to incorporate it into our art. It happens to be the year of the rooster as you can tell. I love animals. We live on a tiny little makeshift farm and I even have a rooster so I thought it would be fun to do in class. Have a wonderful week!


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page